top of page

Amelia Earhart was an excellent pilot.

It all began during World War I, that her interest in flying sparked. During a visit to her sister in Canada, she grew an interest to care for the wounded soldiers. Her interest became so big that she, “left junior college to become a nurse’s aide in Toronto,” (The Editors of Encyclopedia Britannica). During her time serving as a Red Cross nurse, she spent time watching pilots train at local airfields, but it was not until she took her first airplane ride that she became devoted to becoming an aviator. She did not start taking flying lessons till the early year of 1921(Idoice). It was her father who paid for her instruction classes. While being in the air for five minutes, Earhart said, “I knew I had to fly” (Iodice). On the same year she purchased her very first airplane, a Kinner Airster which she nicknamed “The Canary.” Earhart bought the yellow aircraft for about $2000. On December 15, 1921, Earhart passed her pilot exam. Two days later, she participated in her very first flight at a Pacific Coast ladies Derby in Pasadena (Idoice).


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

About Me

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. It’s easy. Just click “Edit Text” or double click me to add your own content and make changes to the font. I’m a great place for you to tell a story and let your users know a little more about you.

#LeapofFaith

Posts Archive

Keep Your Friends
Close & My Posts Closer.

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page